The La Crosse Bridge and Steel Company built several more bowstring arch bridges. The total number is not known. In addition to the 5 remaining bowstring arch bridges on McGilvray Road, three more are known to exist within the state of Wisconsin. Two are in city parks, located in Fond du Lac and Watertown, and the third is located near Amnicon Falls near Superior.
The wooden bridges installed in 1892 did not last long. The boggy ground and raging spring floods caused the wood to deteriorate in about a decade. The two adjacent counties, La Crosse County and Trempealeau County, bickered endlessly about the road, and were unable to find a solution to maintain the bridges. The Township of Holland attempted to keep the road open, but struggled with limited funds and additional problems after several large floods. Finally, in 1905, La Crosse County agreed to fix the road, due in part to the low cost of the Horton bridge design. Five of the unique bridges were constructed over a period of 3 years, plus a short wooden king post bridge.
The photo above is a view of Bridge #3 as one would approach the bridge while heading west on McGilvray Road. A steel girder approach span runs between the bridge abutment and the start of the truss structure on each end of the bridge.